Chamber Concert Series (November)


colin-venn Andrius Zlabys


On November 13th, Violist Collin Benn and Pianist Andrius Žlabys will perform for the Phelps Museum’s Chamber Concert Series from 3 p.m. to 5 p.m. at 191 Court Street in Binghamton.

Colin Benn has been the resident violist of Music Haven and the Haven String Quartet since 2009. In addition to teaching viola, violin, and bass, Colin has performed and given talks with the Haven String Quartet throughout New Haven, including at the International Festival of Arts & Ideas, as well as the Yale University Art Gallery. Before moving to New Haven, he performed in orchestras throughout New York, Italy, and South America. Colin received his Bachelor’s in Music from the Julliard School where he studied with Toby Appel. He is a candidate for a Master’s Degree at Longy School of Music of Bard College.

Grammy-nominated pianist Andrius Žlabys has received international acclaim for his appearances with many of the world’s leading orchestras, including The New York Philharmonic, Boston Symphony Orchestra, Cleveland Orchestra, Rotterdam Symphony, and Philharmonic Orchestra of Buenos Aires.

Mr. Žlabys’s concerts have included appearances on many of the world’s leading stages, such as Avery Fisher Hall at Lincoln Center, Concertgebouw, Carnegie Hall, Phillips Collection, Teatro Colón, Wigmore Hall, Vienna’s Musikverein and Suntory Hall. He has also appeared at numerous festivals both in the U.S. and abroad, including the Menuhin, Salzburg, Lockenhaus and Caramoor music festivals, and made his Carnegie Hall debut at the Isaac Stern Auditorium with the New York Youth Symphony conducted by Misha Santora in 2001 in a performance of Beethoven’s First Piano Concerto. He was also invited the following season as soloist with Kremerata Baltica to perform Benjamin Britten’s Young Apollo at Carnegie Hall’s Zankel Hall.

Admission is $15 for the general public, $10 for museum members, and $5 for children and students with I.D. Children under 13 are free. Tickets can be purchased online at For more information, please call (607) 722-4873 or email us at

This program is made possible in part by a grant from the United Cultural Fund, a program of the Broome County Arts Council, and with public funds from the Chenango Art’s Council’s Decentralization Program, a re-grant program of the NYS Council on the Arts, with support from Governor Cuomo and the NYS Legislature. Additional support for Broome County provided by the Stewart W. & Willma C. Hoyt Foundation.



Suite I in G major, S. 1007                                                      Johann Sebastian Bach






Menuet 1 – Menuet 2



Sonata No. 1 in F minor for viola and piana, Opus 120, No.1                       Johannes Brahms


Allegro appassionato

Andante un poco Adagio

Allegretto grazioso





Elegie for Solo Viola                                                                            Igor Stravinsky



Viola Sonata, Op.147                                                                          Dmitry Shotakovich






Beau Soir                                                                                             Claude Debussy





Colin Benn, viola

Andrius Zlabys, piano